Business Pages

• 6 posts
    October 20, 2018 12:59 AM EDT

What is the best way to let members create business pages? A custom profile is a good start. But it still has a friend option on it. People don't want a business to read their private profile info and posts. A business page needs a like and follow button rather than a friend button. Is there a good plugin for this or what's the best way to achieve this short of writing our own plugin? I am completely new to SocialEngine. 

• 6923 posts
    October 20, 2018 4:29 AM EDT

Hi Gary! Welcome aboard. 

On my author site, we use Groups to make our author pages. Perhaps you can use Groups for that.

• gs
    • 857 posts
    October 20, 2018 3:43 PM EDT

Below are two excellent Plugins by 2 different 3PDs that offer what you're requesting plus a whole lot more.  Both 3PDs also offer Page and Group Plugins with similar functionality.  For ex, on my site I use Groups/Community for groups and communities, a Business Plugin for Causes and Campaigns ('business' can be renamed to whatever you need, such as Causes in my case), and Page Plugin for businesses and entities (similar to FB 'pages').  I'm not sure if the below are Certified, but are excellent products by excellent 3PDs nevertheless.

https://www.socialenginesolutions.com/social-engine/business-directories-plugin/

https://www.socialengineaddons.com/socialengine-directory-businesses-plugin

• 6 posts
    October 20, 2018 11:35 PM EDT

Thank you gs. Those are good leads, and your endorsement helps.

• gs
    • 857 posts
    October 21, 2018 12:21 PM EDT

You're quite welcome.

I believe both 3PDs offer demos of the linked products, so you may wish to go to their respective websites and check them out.  If there's anything else specific (i.e. requirements/expectations), feel free to ask me here or (preferably) PM me, and/or contact SES/SEAO directly. 

• 6 posts
    October 21, 2018 12:42 PM EDT