Community

Forums » 3rd Party Product Discussions

SocialEngineAddOns vs SocialEngineSolutions

• 18 posts
    November 25, 2018 6:24 PM EST

I'm new to the SE community, so maybe this is a dumb question.

I'm looking at themes and plugins, and have naturally come across both from SocialEngineAddOns and SocialEngineSolutions (among others). Visiting the web sites, it seems they have almost the same (but not exactly the same) collection of plugins. 

Are these essentially the same company/people? Or have they literally developed the same plugins? Or are they just fronting components from the same independent developers? Or is there something nefarious going on?

Regarding the themes- SES seems to have more themes, and SEAO's themes tend to have "jerkey" scrolling affects while SES's are smooth. So even though I've already bought a couple SEAO themes to review, I'm probably going to look closer at SES. Any advice on code quality or other issues between the two?

I'll also likely be looking for custom development from one or more teams. How do these teams stack up? Would you recommend that I load up with plugins I think I need, then look where they need to be customized? Or just go strait to the developers with requirements and let them pull in plugins to speed development?

Thanks for the advice!

• 69 posts
    November 26, 2018 4:37 AM EST
    Help

I’m new to SE also.

Currently my experiences with both of these vary.

I have 1 addon from SEAO which is their PWA which is a mobile view theme. It’s a nice addon apart from a couple misalignments to which I got a response to buy their advanced wall fees to fix the issue. Unfortunately this is an option for me as I have SES advanced wall plugin. So I’ve asked for a refund and I’ll remove the addon completely from my server. I’m not happy with that kind of support.