Community

Forums » SEPHP Help and Tips

Problem with comment on the wall

    • 72 posts
    February 18, 2019 12:41 PM EST

    Hello,

    On "Default Level", my members can not write on the wall. That works well.

    However, he can enter comments on existing publications.

    How to stop them from commenting ?

    I did not find the option

    Thanks in advance

    • 3533 posts
    February 18, 2019 2:22 PM EST

    Are you using default activity feed? Is this just for feed or for comments on everything?

    • 120 posts
    March 1, 2019 4:50 PM EST

    @Lovea

     

    There are two pages you must check:

    1. www.yourdomain.com/admin/authorization/level/edit/id/4 (This should be level 4 Default)

    The options to set:

    a.) Profile Viewing Options;

    • untick Everyone (unless the world wide web has access to profiles)
    • All Registered Members
    • My Network
    • My Friends
    • Only Me

     

    b.) Profile Commenting Options:

    • All Registered Members
    • My Network
    • My Friends
    • Only Me

     

     

    2.) www.yourdomain.com/members/settings/privacy (Member privacy)

    Profile Privacy
    • Only Me
    • Only My Friends
    • Friends & Networks
    • All Registered Members
    • Everyone (tick this one)
    Profile Posting Privacy
    • Only Me
    • Only My Friends
    • Friends & Networks
    • All Registered Members (this one allows you comment on everything you post or is automatically created in the activity feed)

    Choose either of the first 3 options here.

     

    Profile Posting Privacy is not only used to stop people from posting on the member profile but also used to stop people from commenting on whatever is shared public. Like you joined a network (Say hello).
    You could set this option to Me Only if you don't want other members to comment or like things.

    Also option 1b should be set to Only Me the rest must be unticked. If there is only one option is set here the NEW user will not be able to set his own privacy as the system will allocate the only option.

     

    Best thing is to delete the existing Test User and create 2 new Test Users, this will recreate the Authorization settings for the new users.

     

    See if this helps

    • 72 posts
    March 7, 2019 11:18 AM EST

    Thank you for your reply. We will do tests. A big thank-you !