what SE versions does My SQL 5.6 and 5.7 work with?

• gs
    • 857 posts
    June 12, 2019 9:48 PM EDT

Presently running MySQL 5.5, but need to upgrade to 5.6 or 5.7 (won't waste tine here explaining why).  Which MySQL version(s) (5.6, 5.7, both) does each of the following SE versions support?  I ask because my host feels SE is ok, but it's possible a theme or Plugin might have an issue (which I don't understand because if a specific SE version is compatible with a MySQL version, then I thought themes/plugins compatible with that SE version would by relation be compatible with the same MySQL version, but obviously I'm no expert). ty.

4.08.12.*

4.09.04.*

4.10.03p5

• 6923 posts
    June 13, 2019 5:02 AM EDT

I'm using 4.10.3p5 on local with mysql 5.7.25 without any issue. If you have plugins and themes, it's a good idea to ask those experts. 

I've not tested 4.09 on the upgraded mysql but I would guess it works. I doubt 4.8 works as it doesn't work on PHP 7 either. Best option would be a development site on local or on your hosts setup but you would end up paying for that as it would need to be on a separate server. They would need to set it up as a subdomain of your main domain to conform to licensing. 

• gs
    • 857 posts
    June 13, 2019 12:09 PM EDT

thanks Donna.

Where may I find the requirements for 4.09 and 4.08?

In the future could requirements include more specifics, i.e. specific tested versions that work properly rather than unclear 'or newer' ?  'or newer' for PHP and MySQL for example are meaningless unless all 'newer' versions are ok to use (which is obviously not possible to know in advance).  This also could give 3PDs specific requirements/expectations.  Just a thought.

• 6923 posts
    June 13, 2019 3:37 PM EDT