How to Become a SocialEngine Developer?

• 5 posts
    July 28, 2020 5:12 PM EDT

Hi, 

This is for the sake of maintaining my own SocialEngine website.

I have a 3rd party plugin and 3rd party custom extension. There have been reliability issues. I don't think I can depend on third party to keep my site running all the time without issue for my users. Plus there are more custom functions I want to add. 

I'd like to learn how to build and maintain SE plugins, extensions and themes myself. My background is designing Wordpress websites. I've just learned PHP fundamentals more thoroughly thanks to a good Udemy course. I can't find any comprehensive course on SocialEngine development though and the SE documentation is sparse.

So I guess I'll have to piece together my own SocialEngine development course. Here's my training road map so far (below). What's off, missing, unnecessary or redundant here? I would appreciate any guidance you can offer. Thank you! 

Also, how much training do you think it would take (hours) to learn how to make advanced SE plugins, assuming you're starting with a basic knowledge of css, html, php? 

Road Map to Becoming a Social Engine Developer?:

• "PHP Beginner to Master" - Udemy course (Done)
    • "Build a Social Media Site with PHP" - Udemy Course
    • "How to Build a Basic SocialEngine Plugin" - Online Tutorial
    • "Zend Framework 2: Learn the PHP Framework ZF2 From Scratch" - Udemy Course
    • Learn Netbeans IDE
      • QUESTION: would a few youtube tuts be enough? i haven't used any IDE before, just code editors
    • CSS Scaffold?
      • QUESTION: is it enough to know css or do i need a course about scaffolding if that's a thing? lol i have no idea
    • MVC Model-View-Controller
      • QUESTION: do i just need a little theory to 'get' mvc? or do i need a separate course on it? or do i need an MVC PHP course?
    • Developer process