Difficulties upgrading to latest version of SocialEngine PHP

• 49 posts
    September 23, 2017 12:16 AM EDT

Hello! My name is Rebecca, and I'm a newbie at this, so please bear with me.

About a year ago, my company bought the Advanced version of SocialEngine PHP through FastComet, the company we use for hosting our website, www.radiosalescafe.com.

I built the site using an earlier version of SocialEngine, using the Quantum Red theme. When FastComet attempted to upgrade the site from that earlier version (version 4.8.? to the best of my recollection) to version 4.9.2, the appearance/layout of the website was really messed up.

Not knowing how to fix this, I had FastComet restore the site to its previous state using the backup they had made. However, something went wrong in this process: even though the website had none of the features that version 4.9.2 is supposed to have - the appearance and functionality was exactly the same as before the upgrade - the admin panel said (and still says) that the site is operating on 4.9.2p1.

FastComet techs suggested that this problem would be solved with an upgrade to version 4.9.3, but since I didn't want to risk screwing up the site again, I had them make a cloned site to test the upgrade and work out any bugs. At the suggestion of a techie friend who's knowledgeable about SocialEngine, I installed SocialEngine's default theme on the cloned site and then attempted to upgrade to the latest version of SocialEngine - this time 4.9.4p2 - in the hopes that it would work better. But the result is the same: the appearance of the website is horribly altered. (See these screenshots of the real site running on the earlier version versus the cloned site post-upgrade: http://bit.ly/2hpGwn1 and http://bit.ly/2wHJlKQ)