SocialNetworking.Solutions » Discussions


Please read BEFORE you purchase anything from these developers!

  • February 18, 2021
    I purchased the twitter clone package and a little later apps. Since the beginning of the installation, every single plugin has issues or errors. I asked for a refund and was told I was past the 72 hours and cannot get one. Based on that alone, I should have known not to move forward with apps purchase. They are nice on their communication, but with over 100 hours of my time in trying to get their plugins to work error free, I STILL DO NOT HAVE A WORKING SITE. Furthermore, specific to this package, it is not a true "clone". Their "follow" does not work at all. And there is one plugin (I won't name it) that performs something illegal and you will get sued if you use it.



    Use a company that has been around for a while. These guys have way too many plugins, are too new and have a bad return policy. You will NEVER get your money back because they purposely take a while to fix problems with ALL of their products.
  • Member
    February 18, 2021
    Hi James, just an FYI but SocialNetworking.Solutions has been an expert with us for several years. Just wanted to clarify that. Thank you for your post. I've alerted them to this issue and your ticket so that the manager can assist you and hopefully clear up your issues.
  • February 18, 2021
    Donna said:
    Hi James, just an FYI but SocialNetworking.Solutions has been an expert with us for several years. Just wanted to clarify that. Thank you for your post. I've alerted them to this issue and your ticket so that the manager can assist you and hopefully clear up your issues.

    Thank you Donna for all your time. As we have discussed offline, the situation is getting worse with them. I am demanding a refund on everything because they attempt to fix one thing, and two other things get screwed up. I am not asking for anything custom. Just that their plugins work as advertised.
    Again, they are nice in their communication. But that does not change the fact that every single day I have to go back and forth with them due to all the errors and lack of advertised functions.
    I hope they provide a refund for everything I have purchased so I can go back to the experts who know what they are doing. At this rate, I will NEVER have a workable site or apps with socialnetworking.solutions.
  • February 18, 2021
    Hello James,


    We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform you that our team has proceeded with the points you mentioned.

    If you still have any issues, then we request you to please contact our support team at support@socialnetworking.solutions


    Regards

    Team SNS
  • February 18, 2021
    SocialNetworking Solutions said:
    Hello James,


    We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform you that our team has proceeded with the points you mentioned.

    If you still have any issues, then we request you to please contact our support team at support@socialnetworking.solutions


    Regards

    Team SNS

    I know about all the tickets. It is never ending support tickets with you guys. Every single day - ALL day - I am testing and testing and testing and STILL cannot get my very simple site to work error free. I wish I never purchased anything from you. My time is valuable as well and I should not have to spend hours and hours every day on your plugin errors.
  • February 22, 2021
    Today has been one month since I purchased this Twitter Clone package from you. And I STILL CANNOT GET THE SITE WORKING AS ADVERTISED. Your return policy states 72 hours, but it is impossible to find all your errors and have you fix them within that time. I told you last week if you did not fix everything on your products that I was going to give up this week. Well, Monday is here and you are still going back and forth with me and nothing works as promised. And, there is no guarantee that if you fix one thing that another won't pop up when I go into production or you upgrade to a new version of a plugin. I have had it with you and you need to stop selling all of your products until you test and fix EVERYTHING. It is completely unacceptable for Social Engine to allow you to sell your products on their site to their customers when you know darn will everything you sell doesn't work.



    If you cannot provide a refund on everything I purchased, then it is going to leave a very bad impression with people who own SE and see this discussion. I NEED to switch to another company that actually has products that work as advertised. Thanks for nothing!
  • February 23, 2021
    Hello James,



    As you know our support team has been very patiently trying to resolve the points you have mentioned and the issues you have reported.

    We have also asked for a meeting with our Project Manager, so that we can better understand your issues and concerns. Please let us know as we would like to provide you resolution to your issues asap.



    Regards

    Team SNS
  • February 23, 2021
    This is so sad on my part. I am very tired of all of the hours I have had to spend with you. I currently don't have the money to purchase everything all over again from someone legitimate, so I need to see how to move forward with this project. Your company has been a complete waste of my time. I sincerely hope no one else buys anything from you.
  • Member
    October 18, 2021
    It seems that this problem is not just with this company, but a few of them. I had a run-in with SocialApps.Tech Completely screwed up plugins, so I purchased all of the SNS plugins and apps. It's like they don't read what you're saying is wrong and do not test the apps after "Fixing" the issues, and then you have to revisit everything. Their texts aren't in the Language Manager like they should be, so you also have to ask them to edit specific text areas. It seems as if these guys shortcut the project to make it seem bearable to land the sale, and after the sale, they get to run off with your money while you wait patiently paying for a hosting service and maintaining a website that does not work out of the box as advertised. But I am slowly figuring out that if you want to start a Social Network, Maybe Social Engine is not the way to go because it's constrained once you dig into it. From the Messaging that needs titles to send to not being able to customize the look and feel of the site unless you know how to program. For example, what's the point of the Layout Editor when you cannot edit the contents of a module? As I said, it looks like it's user-friendly. But once you invest in it, you slowly realize that you just wasted your time and money.



    It's sad. I've tried two different companies, and it's a failure. and a waste of money. It's Sad.
  • October 18, 2021

    A couple of things stood out at me on your reply and I thought I would chime in. First, I have had multiple sites over the last 10 years and experimented with almost all of the plugin/themes suppliers that advertise on SE. The one that I use exclusively now is SocialApps.Tech. They have been great up until 9 months ago. It may be due to covid in their country, but the service has gone to crap with them too. I own almost every plugin they have and even collaborated and paid development costs for custom ones that they sell to others now. I am at a standstill on the Twitter clone package I bought from them because they are screwing with me on the apps (to match the twitter package). Second, I have tried multiple framework software (PHP based, etc) for my site and apps and SE is by far the best. It does have a steep learning curve and is fairly expensive, but nothing else comes close. I highly recommend you stick with SE and pay for their support services. They are invaluable. Third, I hope you are still not using anything from socialnetworking solutions. They are a mess! I lost so much time and money with them! Fourth, and this is VERY important....take the time to learn as much as you can about the inner workings of SE. You mentioned the language editor and layout editor as having issues. I thought that was the case in the very beginning when trying to change things on the plugins or themes, but it was my inexperience that was stopping me. Yes - you are going to spend many hours on tutorials and some code learning. But it is worth it. Both sections in the admin panel can be navigated and you can change almost anything in there. You just have to be patient and learn. This also goes back to having a support subscription with SE. They are top notch in getting back to you and helping. I don't pay for it anymore, but that is only because I am almost an expert after over 11 years with them :) If you have a good idea for a social project and can dedicate the time, I suggest you stick with SE and SocialApps. This combination of framework, plugins, themes, customs and support is the only way to go. Unfortunately, it isn't going to be cheap with your upfront costs, dedicated servers and both companies support.... All the best.