SocialNetworking.Solutions » Discussions


Please read BEFORE you purchase anything from these developers!

  • Feb 18
    I purchased the twitter clone package and a little later apps. Since the beginning of the installation, every single plugin has issues or errors. I asked for a refund and was told I was past the 72 hours and cannot get one. Based on that alone, I should have known not to move forward with apps purchase. They are nice on their communication, but with over 100 hours of my time in trying to get their plugins to work error free, I STILL DO NOT HAVE A WORKING SITE. Furthermore, specific to this package, it is not a true "clone". Their "follow" does not work at all. And there is one plugin (I won't name it) that performs something illegal and you will get sued if you use it.



    Use a company that has been around for a while. These guys have way too many plugins, are too new and have a bad return policy. You will NEVER get your money back because they purposely take a while to fix problems with ALL of their products.
  • Member
    Feb 18
    Hi James, just an FYI but SocialNetworking.Solutions has been an expert with us for several years. Just wanted to clarify that. Thank you for your post. I've alerted them to this issue and your ticket so that the manager can assist you and hopefully clear up your issues.
  • Feb 18
    Donna said:
    Hi James, just an FYI but SocialNetworking.Solutions has been an expert with us for several years. Just wanted to clarify that. Thank you for your post. I've alerted them to this issue and your ticket so that the manager can assist you and hopefully clear up your issues.

    Thank you Donna for all your time. As we have discussed offline, the situation is getting worse with them. I am demanding a refund on everything because they attempt to fix one thing, and two other things get screwed up. I am not asking for anything custom. Just that their plugins work as advertised.
    Again, they are nice in their communication. But that does not change the fact that every single day I have to go back and forth with them due to all the errors and lack of advertised functions.
    I hope they provide a refund for everything I have purchased so I can go back to the experts who know what they are doing. At this rate, I will NEVER have a workable site or apps with socialnetworking.solutions.
  • Feb 18
    Hello James,


    We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform you that our team has proceeded with the points you mentioned.

    If you still have any issues, then we request you to please contact our support team at support@socialnetworking.solutions


    Regards

    Team SNS
  • Feb 18
    SocialNetworking Solutions said:
    Hello James,


    We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform you that our team has proceeded with the points you mentioned.

    If you still have any issues, then we request you to please contact our support team at support@socialnetworking.solutions


    Regards

    Team SNS

    I know about all the tickets. It is never ending support tickets with you guys. Every single day - ALL day - I am testing and testing and testing and STILL cannot get my very simple site to work error free. I wish I never purchased anything from you. My time is valuable as well and I should not have to spend hours and hours every day on your plugin errors.
  • Feb 22
    Today has been one month since I purchased this Twitter Clone package from you. And I STILL CANNOT GET THE SITE WORKING AS ADVERTISED. Your return policy states 72 hours, but it is impossible to find all your errors and have you fix them within that time. I told you last week if you did not fix everything on your products that I was going to give up this week. Well, Monday is here and you are still going back and forth with me and nothing works as promised. And, there is no guarantee that if you fix one thing that another won't pop up when I go into production or you upgrade to a new version of a plugin. I have had it with you and you need to stop selling all of your products until you test and fix EVERYTHING. It is completely unacceptable for Social Engine to allow you to sell your products on their site to their customers when you know darn will everything you sell doesn't work.



    If you cannot provide a refund on everything I purchased, then it is going to leave a very bad impression with people who own SE and see this discussion. I NEED to switch to another company that actually has products that work as advertised. Thanks for nothing!
  • Feb 23
    Hello James,



    As you know our support team has been very patiently trying to resolve the points you have mentioned and the issues you have reported.

    We have also asked for a meeting with our Project Manager, so that we can better understand your issues and concerns. Please let us know as we would like to provide you resolution to your issues asap.



    Regards

    Team SNS
  • Feb 23
    This is so sad on my part. I am very tired of all of the hours I have had to spend with you. I currently don't have the money to purchase everything all over again from someone legitimate, so I need to see how to move forward with this project. Your company has been a complete waste of my time. I sincerely hope no one else buys anything from you.