fresh install in sub domain

  • December 23, 2019 1:47 PM EST

    I am trying to install SE in a new sub domain for testing purposes. 

    When going to /install/index.php, I am getting ERR_TOO_MANY_REDIRECTS even after refreshing the page for a few times using Chrome or Windows Edge.

    What is the solution to this?

    Also, will the new install be creating a new database if I give it a new name (step 3 of https://www.socialengine.com/support/article/5145149/se-php-installing-socialengine). I don't want to affect my production site.

    Thanks,

    • Moderator
    • 6431 posts
    December 23, 2019 2:08 PM EST

    It's best to use a subdomain and be sure to set it as "development" such as development.yoursite.com as that is what the license requires. It also has to be password protected or set to maintenance mode. Yes, you need to make a new database for it with a name different than your main database. 

    • Moderator
    • 6431 posts
    December 23, 2019 2:09 PM EST

    If you host with BryZar, you can ask them how to set it all up. If you don't host with them, you can ask your host as they might know how as well.

    • Moderator
    • 64 posts
    December 24, 2019 3:15 AM EST

    It is better to host your development website on a small sized server and you can use the sub-domain license keys which will not cost you anything additional. It is very easy and free of cost for the initial 750 hours if you get the development server hosted on AWS. 

    Also, for too many redirects, .htaccess file must be doing the redirects. You need to check on this and see if there is any redirection configured. Additionally, you can replace the .htaccess file with new htaccess file. 


    For database, a copy of the production db is required as a new db for development. The databases should be different for each of the websites. 

    Please let me know if there is still any concern on this. 

    • Moderator
    • 6431 posts
    December 24, 2019 4:48 AM EST

     There is no subdomain license key. That was incorrect. As I said, you must conform to the license terms. 

    • 41 posts
    June 21, 2022 1:31 PM EDT

    I am searching for a tutorial or instructions to build a test site (subdomain) in here but can't find any.

    Is there a tutorial somewhere ?

     

    • Moderator
    • 6431 posts
    June 23, 2022 6:12 AM EDT

    You would just follow the normal installation instructions but for a test site, it must be in a subdomain named "development" and using the same domain as the license so development.yourdomain.com where yourdomain.com is your licensed domain. It has to be either in a password protected directory or it needs to be in maintenance mode which requires a code to see the site. 

    • 41 posts
    June 24, 2022 9:35 AM EDT

    Thanks Donna.

    • 41 posts
    June 24, 2022 10:00 AM EDT

    Forgot to add something: I solved the access to the development site changing the .htaccess file here

     

     RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST}  !^development\.mysite\.com$       [NC]
    
      RewriteRule ^(.*)         https://development.mysite.com/$1  [L,R]

    I had a redirection, it is not the original one. But the point here is that it should specify development. 

    I think this is the only missing part in the instructions summarised by Donna above. 


    This post was edited by Donna at June 24, 2022 11:53 AM EDT
    • Moderator
    • 6431 posts
    June 24, 2022 11:54 AM EDT

    Please note do not add any code to this community without putting it in the code tags as our rules say. I have fixed your post.

    Please also note that in all the years making development sites in SE, I have never had to edit the htaccess. Thanks for the tips in case someone else has the same issue.